Ilmatar (2000)


Original Release Date: 24.05.2000

Label: BMG Finland

Producer: Huges de Courson

Time: 47:03



1. Itkin
2. Käppee
3. Laiska
4. Liigua
5. Milja
6. Äijö
7. Kivutar
8. Linnunmieli
9. Lieto
10. Sanat
11. Meri


“Ilmatar” once again presented Värttinä willing to renew itself. Even though singers have never been belittled in the band – quite the opposite – on “Ilmatar”, the singers’ sounds are finally on an equal par with rest of the ban. It can be heard in solos, but also in recording technique and in mixing. Compared to previous albums, “Ilmatar” is more mystical and thoughtful, fast songs don’t have the main role. There are also clam atmospheres, and “Kivutar”, which has a sick time signature, but which Värttinä was able to make a functioning entity.

(From “Värttinä – On the Wanderer’s Road and the Red Carpet”, Kimmo Nevalainen)

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s