Värttinä (1987)


Original Release Date: 1987

Label: Mipu Music

Producer: Värttinä

Time: 41:24

1. Ruskie neitsyt
2. Mainitus
3. Lehmän tanssi
4. Miss’ on miun armahin
5. Mie tahon tasaista miestä
6. Juhon kontra
7. Tutskovin polska
8. Suojärven katrilli
9. Karjalainen kehtolaulu
10. Varrii ompi zaijuvesj
11. Koiviston polska
12. Duetto
13. Melkutus
14. Sade
15. Tsiiputus
16. Sekatyylipolkka
17. Ompa tietty tietyssäni


The first one with the pithy name “Värttinä” , was released as a self-financed album in the summer of 1987. They were busy making it after Värttinä was chosen to be the band of the year in Kaustinen folk music festival and they didn’t have their own recording yet. It says something about the pace of the process that the album was recorded durning one weekend in April in Osuuspankki’s cottage in Rääkkylä. In practice, the music was played live in the studio and taped.

(From “Värttinä – On the Wanderer’s Road and the Red Carpet”, Kimmo Nevalainen)

1 Comment

  1. A trivia note: the song title “Ompa tietty tietyssäni” is spelled incorrectly. The correct spelling of the first word would be “onpa”. I’m not sure if this is intentional.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s