Vihma (1998)


Original Release Date: 1998

Label: BMG – Wicklow

Producer: Janne Haavisto

Time: 47:11

1. Vihma
2. Tielle heitetty
3. Emoton
4. Päivän nousu nostajani
5. Laulutyttö
6. Uskottu ei uupuvan
7. Maa ei kerro
8. Kylän kävijä
9. Mieleni alenevi
10. Neitonen
11. Aamu
12. Kauan kulkenut
13. Vihmax (Vihma remix)


“Vihma” is Värttinä’s most powerful album, but unfortunately, the demo-like enthusiasm can be heard in the thinness of singing. The songs were Värttinä’s strongest so far, the playing was tighter than ever before, but the mixing on singing parts sounds like it did in past decades. In its partly punk-like roughness “Vihma” was a countermove to their previous album, and even though while listening afterwards, the sounds of a couple of songs are stunning, it doesn’t change the fact that “Vihma” is one of Värttinä’s  best albums. A good expamle is Janne Lappalainen’s composition “Maa ei kerro”, which is one of Värttinä’s most stylish and at the same time most forgotten classics.

(From “Värttinä – On the Wanderer’s Road and the Red Carpet”, Kimmo Nevalainen)


  1. A trivia note: this album doesn’t include either instrumental or a capella songs. (It’s the only Värttinä album without an instrumental, and excluding the first two albums, also the only one without an accapella song.)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s